View Full Version : Cooking Shovelnose

lunatic
24-12-2006, 02:18 PM
G'day Ausfishers!
I caught a shovelnose yesterday and remebered someone saying they are good tucker, so I whacked him in the esky. I have cut off two nice looking fillets, and just have to skin them now. Does anybody have any good recipies for cooking them?

Lunatic.

imnotoriginal
24-12-2006, 08:19 PM
Had one last sunday for brekky cut into small pieces, barbequed with salt and lemon and dunked in sweet chilli sauce with some little rice creation Carl put together (had peanut butter, coconut and all sorts of other stuff in it). Absolutely delicious! The one we kept was a great eating size too, only about 3 foot long. Enjoy!
Joel

BAR_UP
02-01-2007, 08:38 PM
I reckon they should be released!

mitch_05
03-01-2007, 10:40 AM
I would ask Kingtin.From what i hear he is quite good at catching them ;D

06-01-2007, 02:55 PM
great for wet dishes, tough textures holds together!!

08-01-2007, 10:28 AM
they are OK to eat, but are a bit of a waste in so much as the weight of the fish when caught to the weight of edible flesh, just fillet the "tail", skin and cut off any blood meat, then cook and eat as any other fish, Banjo's are not nearly as good, and return even less meat than a Shovelnose.

pedostool
10-01-2007, 01:53 PM
um... all this talk about food is making me hungry, just make a curry out them....great :P

BGG
13-01-2007, 07:18 AM
Agree with pedostool. They are the best fish, flavour and texture wise for a good curry.

BGG
13-01-2007, 05:33 PM
Will get the Boss to post the recipe in the Recipe section soon