Have always used mono, but finally suscumbed to some braid on weekend
1. abu 660 100m 14lb fireline
2. shimano catala 300 130m of 15lb platil millenium
had ample backing on both ??, only using them for close
in work around mangroves and other structures, but every
time i cast, either with plactics or other baits, not using
much weight 1 or 0 and 1 m leader, the cast would go abt
12m and then the braid seemed to lock up on the spool,
causing everything to come to a sudden halt.
1. have i got it loaded too tight or loose
2. not enough weight
3. or do u have to cast different with braid
never had this prob with mono on the same reels
?? some of you knowledgable people out there, must no
the answer.
regards

Roman
29-01-2002, 08:22 AM
Im no expert.
I have never used mono on a baitcaster before so i carnt tell you whats the difference, but isnt it over running?

imported_admin
29-01-2002, 08:31 AM
Sounds like it is too loose. With braid you need it wound on fairly firmly or else when you wind in line under load it will be forced down into the spool and be wedged in tight. Make sure the mono you are using for backing is on nice and tight also before you spool up with the braid or else the braid will be worked into the spool of mono as well.

Fitzy
29-01-2002, 08:56 AM
Hi Webby,
When casting with mono all your life, many tend to use the spring in the mono to accelerate the cast. You can't do this with braids as they have little or no strecth. You need to adjust the casting brake on your reel a little then adjust you casting style slightly until you are used to it, stop the sling shotting. Now so much a short, sharp burst of power, rather a constant acceleration on the rod thru the power curve. If you are casting things too heavy or too light for the rod you can also run into a few probs. These will be made worse if casting directly into the wind.

Braid will also run off a spool & thru the runners alot quicker than mono.