PDA

View Full Version : What Battery and Charger is Best

sporty1
26-08-2003, 09:40 AM
Hi All

After investing in a new Minn Kota 55AP I am now looking at Batteries and Chargers. I am considering a 120 AH Battery but what type? am I best with fully sealed ect? As for chargers am I better off investing in a more expensive 8amp or larger or stick with 4amp? how long will it take to recharge a 120amp hrs battery (is it simply a matter of dividing the battery size by the charger size?). Any suggestions on the brand of battery and brand and size of charger would be appreciated.

SteveCan
29-08-2003, 04:56 PM
Hi Sporty,

Lots of good questions there - and if you do a search on batteries on this site you will see some great discussions form a few months ago.

I am no expert, but here are a few tips I picked up from the forums. First of all - for a deep cycle, the higher the amp on the charger the better. Not only will it charge faster, but properly matched to your battery it will charge it higher than a lesser charger. Also - serioulsy consider a fully automatic charger that will go to trickle once a full charge has been achieved - otherwise an overcharge may damage your battery. As for sealed etc, the more you pay the higher quality battery you can get. I needed advice and went to Battery World - sure they have a commercial interest but they do know batteries and if you are looking to do it right they will give you good advice (MHO)

Anyway - there is a heap on knowledge here on the site, have a look about and perhaps some of the more knowledgeable will tip in.

Cheers
Steve.

sporty1
30-08-2003, 03:22 AM
Thanks steve
Can a fast charge on a deep cycle battery damage the battery? or reduce its reserve capacity? I wil have a trip to "battery world"

SteveCan
03-09-2003, 09:04 AM
Hi Sporty -

I don't Know! - but if you find out the answer I would like to know as I am looking at a new charger myself!

Cheers
Steve.

craigie
04-09-2003, 01:34 PM