PDA

View Full Version : what gear do i need? i'm new to beach fishing

uk_dabbler
02-12-2003, 09:40 PM
i'm visiting the Australian East Coast for a month this Christmas and want to get into beach fishing seeing as we'll be camping by the beach almost the whole time...fantastic!

My experience however is in UK freshater fishing, so i don't even know the basics of what sea reels do what!!

Can anyone please lend me any guidence on what set up i should go for, bearing in mind i'd like to carry on using the gear back in english waters afterwards.

I see 'Alvey' reels talked about a lot but the design and required technique is quite alien to me. Do they free run all the time like a fly reel might? if so does this mean you need to hold them continually waiting for a bite?

The reels i see being used in the uk are the 'multiplier' shape that i think sit ontop of the rod...are they a better option?

I would also benefit greatly with some layman's advice on how to set up surf rigs too....

any advice would be greatly appreciated,

thanks in advace,
uk dabbler

Gorilla_in_Manila
03-12-2003, 05:44 AM
uk dabbler,

First of all, the most important thing about beach fishing on the Aussie East Coast, is that you never mention the Rugby, or that little smart arse, Jonny without a "h". ;D

The two main differences to what you have been used to, will be that 1. you are going to get sand and salt through absolutely everything and that 2. there are going to be waves.