View Full Version : wats the best gear for whiting

fisherman_charles
07-01-2004, 04:38 AM
hey i need some tips on wat line, rod and reel do i have to use, i aming for travally, flathead, whiting, and bream i want to go light with line at a maxium at 6pounds and i am also fishing of the beach if you replie thanks.

agnes_jack
07-01-2004, 06:42 AM
Gday Charles
Mate it sounds like what you are after is a nice light rod around the 7ft mark with a light spin reel. Both should be rated for about 2 to 4kg. Its worth taking your time and speaking to a few different tackle stores about the types available to you. It is worth saving up a little bit more and getting a very good quality reel with a very smoooth drag system, especially if your going to take on little speedsters like the trevally. Light line fishing is great fun mate, but you must have good equipment.

Have fun buddy, Tony

clutter
07-01-2004, 06:22 PM
If you are going to be fishing off the beach I'd be more inclined to go for something a bit longer like a 4126 snyder rod of about 10'6" and team it up with a 6" alvey. This is a pretty popular sort of a rig and I prefer to stay away from the beach with spinning reels.

Just my thoughts anyway,

Cheers, Clutter

fisherman_charles
08-01-2004, 04:56 AM
thanks for replies but i think ill stick to the first replie because i am aimig for a egg beater which can throw a mile because i live up north in cairns and people here dont really sell alvery reels.

jeffo
08-01-2004, 05:03 AM
i like my live fibre pro classic spin! teamed with any of the smaller shimano thread lines its a top little out fit for fishing baits and lures for the species you mentioned.

imnotoriginal
08-01-2004, 06:29 PM
I'd agree with tony mate, you want something about 7 or 8 foot. I don't think you'll need a huge cast, plus you'll probably be using fairly light weights. Alveys are great in the surf, but if you can keep them dry and out of the sand the threadline will suffice and will be better for spinning for trevally, as you'll get more speed. Good luck with your purchase.
Joel

fisherman_charles
09-01-2004, 05:11 AM
i think i will get a threadline shimano reel and rod outfit with 2kg of line

jeffo
09-01-2004, 06:03 AM
2kg of line! holey shit... oh wait you mean 2kg line ;D

fisherman_charles
09-01-2004, 08:33 AM
tehe your so funny

agnes_jack
09-01-2004, 10:46 AM
Sounds like a good choice Charles! ;)
Cant wait to see what ya catch with it ;D

Regards Tony

fisherman_charles
10-01-2004, 05:07 AM
yere mate hopefully a heap of flathead ,whiting, bream and travally

fisherman_charles
10-01-2004, 05:08 AM
also how heavy should be a trace for whiting

agnes_jack
10-01-2004, 06:55 AM
Charles
Always the lightest trace you can get away with.
The main thing with very light trace is to get your Knots right. What I usually do is use a spider hitch double then join a light trace to that. I would use say a 3kg trace. If you use good quality trace, you may get away with 2kg, always you will get the best results with the lightest one. Practice all your Knots and test them to be sure you have them right and you should have no worries.

Tony ;)

agnes_jack
10-01-2004, 07:00 AM
For your flathead and trevally I would step up to about 12lb,trace, again use a spider hitch double.

# # # # # # Good luck mate

fisherman_charles
10-01-2004, 07:04 AM
thanks mate a big help in knowlage was learnt just in a couple of words. ;D ;)

agnes_jack
10-01-2004, 07:38 AM
My pleasure ;D