View Full Version : Stella 10,000

tonyp
15-02-2004, 10:00 AM
I saw a Stella 10 000 at a loan shop for over $700 ,it was a silver one, Which I have been told is a older modle.

If anyone wants to know where it is let me know by PM. I do not remeber the name of the shop. You could go and check it out and try do a deal. It was in good nic,
I am on the Gold Coast.

vertico
15-02-2004, 09:09 PM
stella just arent worth the money i recun

Zeeke
15-02-2004, 09:16 PM
arent worth the money when you can go buy an Okuma Inspira (exactly the same reel) for 1/6th the price and brand new..

vertico
15-02-2004, 09:20 PM
i agree

tonyp
16-02-2004, 04:20 AM
I agree they are not worth the money ,just thought someone might want to have a look. :-/

Fitzy
16-02-2004, 06:48 PM
Tony that a good price for the Stella, no matter if it is the previous model. They are a very sweet reel, just cant see me ever buying one tho, but plenty of folks do...

fitz..

tonyp
17-02-2004, 04:17 AM
Fitz,

I thought it was good also for the price of those things.

But ,no I wouldn't pay that either. :-/

18-02-2004, 06:28 PM
VERY big call Zeeke in saying that the inspira's are like the stella's :o

team_mongo
18-02-2004, 07:22 PM
sorry tim, i dont agree with you.
You may not get the performance out of the lighter reels, but the 10000 and 20000 are truely awesome reels. I dont think the okuma can pull 30kg of drag out of the box. Not that its possible to fish that drag, but you can get to about 16kg without harness and some guys that i know jig with that amount of drag. The stella will do that easily. The Japs do it with GT popping and ambo and dogtooth jigging. If you've ever seen this type of fishing, its amazing. It looks like the reel and rod are about to explode, theres that much tension!

Value for money is a personal opinion. I dont have a stella, and dont know whether I would buy one, but if you got the dosh to spare...

George

Zeeke
18-02-2004, 07:48 PM
Leet, Okuma used to make parts for Shimano till shimano took over, so im sure they know what they are doing, now even tho the okuma is a lil bit larger and looks diff, the Inspira is supposed to be the same as what a stella would be like..

19-02-2004, 05:41 AM
"Okuma used to make parts for Shimano till shimano took over" - Really ? I didnt know this mate. How long ago was this? Are we talking back when shimano first started? Or did they use to sub-contract okuma to make parts for em? Not hard to believe. Labour in tiawan would be alot cheaper than in Japan.
Anyways, would have to agree the stella's are alot of money to fork out expecially in the smaller sized 1000 reels. Would love to find out how much these reels cost shimano to make.

Zeeke
19-02-2004, 05:29 PM
i ment sub-contract .. ill also agree with George the stellas are a top reel when it comes to heavy duty sportsfishing for GT's and such.. and the smaller models are a bit of a rip.. but it just sometimes helps to look around.. u might find something of equal quality for less in a diff brand

20-02-2004, 06:56 AM
If you wanted the low down on Okumas you should have followed the saga of the Pilgrim/Big Deal guys on the Marlin Bar. No way would I touch anything but Abu, Penn, Shimano or Daiwa.

How much are the equivalent Saltigas to the Stellas? Have seen Damo go to work on Sailfish on a Stella 10 000 and it was awesome for a spinning reel.

Bashir
22-02-2004, 11:39 AM
Both tica and okuma have made parts for shimano. However it was the founders of Okuma that did this. The company Okuma itself was formed in 1987. Shimano make most of their reels themselves these days. Unless someone here has opened up a stella and an inspira side by side, I think it would be very hard to compare them. Somehow I think the Stella would be way ahead. [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

team_mongo
22-02-2004, 05:03 PM
smithy

the stella 10000 is approx = to saltiga 6000gt
both approx 6:1 and 30kg of drag
the stella 20000 is approx = to saltiga 6000
both approx 4:1 and 30kg of drag

stellas are about $1200
saltigas are about $1350

George

28-02-2004, 07:18 AM
Well, if anyone is interested in a Stella 20000FA for $1050.00 :o :o :o :o :o brand new.

Let me now 8)

dudley
04-03-2004, 03:20 AM
check out the Tica Dolphin. Mighty fine reel. 13 b/b smoooooth as silk and under $300, with a smaller spare spool.
The large one holds about 500m of 50lb fins braid.
My brother used one on the sailfish up north. no dramas at all.

jhlee
29-03-2004, 04:16 PM
Hi guys, if you are not doing deep sea jigging then you might not need a reel like that. I normally fish with 13kg drag with both my stella 20000 and saltiga 6000 and I don't think any okuma spinning reel that take that drag pressure? What do you think?

saen
31-03-2004, 06:05 AM
I would love to own a stella but i would also love to own $1200 to buy it
lets get real guys, a $1200 real is not going to catch you more fish, it might be smoother but it all comes down to the fisho
but i suppose it comes down to how much money you earn and how good you want to look with your gear?
just a thought???

JJ

Mr.Ocean
31-03-2004, 10:39 AM
another choice for jigging and popping is Ryobi Safari 5000 #it's cheaper and durable.
Regard

lordy
31-03-2004, 11:57 AM
Anyone know what is up with the gearing on the Dolphin? You see the same reel listed with 3 gearings 3.3 4.1 5.2 instead of just one gearing? Are there 3 different variations of the same reel or can they change the gears.

godevil
31-03-2004, 03:34 PM

Yep you can get the model with diffrent gear ratio and also eight diffrent spools to match.. ranging from no.15 1lb - 300mtrs to no.12 wich holds 10lb 240 metres
i can say i have shimano's daiwa and tica and for pricing i would go tica at this point!!! casts smooth and get atleast an extra 10 or so metres compared to the others..

Check out

http://www.ticaglobal.com/EN/AM/PR_Reels_A.asp?Model=DOLPHIN%20SF%20series&type=SF5000#

http://www.ticaglobal.com/EN/AM/PR_Reels.htm

for more info

Hope it helps!!!

lordy
01-04-2004, 05:31 AM
thanks. I found it listed else where but didn't find the tica site.

01-04-2004, 08:28 AM
For jigging the way I am thinking at the moment is to get a Penn Spinfisher Jack Erskinized. What do you guys reckon about that?

raefpud
01-04-2004, 06:21 PM
Having worked in a tackle shop I can tell you that (in general) you really do get what you pay for in fishing tackle. My stella is absolutley brilliant, and yes, while it did cost me a fortune I know that its going to perform and its going to last me a whole lot longer than any other comparable reel. Its got ten years of warranty and its re - sale price is gonna hold its own for many years to come. I also know I'm gonna be able to get parts for it for the next decade too which is a bonus, not that i'd expect to need them.
And yes, while Okuma did manufacture some componentry for shimano, their build quality, technology and current componentry doesnt compare to that of a top end shimano or daiwa reel.
Nothing will pull drag like a 10K stella, the only thing that comes close in performance is the Saltiga, it may even be better, I'm not sure. I have seen several TLD'S come back to the shop with the guts fried in them after one deep sea jigging session, it is a very demanding type of fishing that only a few products could really live up to.

team_mongo
03-04-2004, 04:50 PM
Smithy, the spinfisher is fine for jigging. The japs trick them out to the max. I think jack does one with a much larger drag plate, it was in QFM some time back. Probably not fast enuf for popping. The others to look at are the stella, saltiga and safari.